Congresswoman Frederica Wilson

Representing the 24th District of Florida

Wilson Leads Letter to DHS Urging a Halt to Haiti Deportations

Apr 7, 2020
Press Release

Miami, FL – In response to the Department of Homeland Security’s plan to deport Haitians on Tuesday, April 7, Congresswoman Wilson led a letter to Acting Secretary Chad F. Wolf urging him to reverse this decision.

“Like many of the countries to which migrants are being repatriated, Haiti lacks the public health infrastructure to prevent the spread of the virus or to treat a large number of infected people. Haiti has struggled to rebuild in the aftermath of the devastating 2010 earthquake and other disasters, including a cholera epidemic,” the letter reads. “Many citizens still lack access to the most basic medical care, potable water, and soap for handwashing. It is unconscionable to repatriate migrants who may be unwitting carriers of the virus into such an environment.” 

In March, Immigration and Customs Enforcement said that the agency would “delay enforcement actions” and that it’s “highest priorities are to promote lifesaving and public safety activities.”

Continuing to deport migrants to Haiti would have implications for the U.S., as well, because Haiti’s health-care system is so drastically compromised, and it does not have the infrastructure in place to care for even a dozen coronavirus patients. If an outbreak occurs in Haiti, the United States may be forced to financially intercede and care for the people of Haiti because a pandemic will be too overwhelming for the island nation to conquer.The Department of Homeland Security is reportedly deporting detainees without first testing them for COVID-19.

“ICE needs to allow these detainees to shelter in place. That’s what the president promised. It is creating a very dangerous situation for the airports, the Caribbean, and ICE itself. It’s another mechanism to spread the virus across the world,” said Congresswoman Wilson.

The letter was signed by Representatives Frederica S. Wilson (Fl-24), Karen Bass (CA-37), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Yvette D. Clarke (NY-9), Val B. Demings (FL-10), Ted Deutch (FL-22), Lois Frankel (FL-21), Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Andy Levin (MI-9), James P. McGovern (MA-2), Gregory W. Meeks (NY-5), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC), Ayanna Pressley (MA-7), Donna E. Shalala (FL-27), Darren Soto (FL-9), Bennie G. Thompson (MS-2), Nydia M. Velázquez (NY-7), and Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23). 


To read the full letter, click here.