Contact Button

Email Updates

  • Email Updates

    Email Updates

    Receive Regular Email updates
    from the Congresswoman


Find HIV Testing Sites & Care Services


Congresswoman Frederica Wilson and Congressman Robert Goodlatte Lead 80 Members of Congress in Effort to Save Airports Including Broward's North Perry

WASHINGTON, DC—Today, Congresswoman Frederica Wilson (D-FL) and Congressman Robert Goodlatte (R-VA) submitted a letter to Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood calling on the Department of Transportation to use unobligated funds to prevent the closure of 149 contract air traffic control towers, including the tower at Broward County’s North Perry Airport.  The Reducing Flight Delays Act of 2013, which Congress passed last week and President Obama signed into law earlier this week, enables Secretary LaHood to take action to save these towers, which were slated for closure due to the sequester. 

80 Members of Congress—representing both parties and diverse regions of the country—signed the letter authored by Congresswoman Wilson and Congressman Goodlatte.

In the letter, Congresswoman Wilson and Congressman Goodlatte wrote that “maintaining service at all contract air towers is intrinsic to the authority granted in this law to ensure a safe and efficient air transportation system.”  

“Towers like North Perry are not only essential for passengers. They’re also critical for flight training, public safety, and jobs,” Congresswoman Wilson added.  “I am committed to saving the tower at North Perry and towers around the nation.”

"Airports, communities, air traffic controllers, and pilots from across the country are very grateful for this exceptionally strong bipartisan support,” said Spencer Dickerson, Executive Director of the U.S. Contract Tower Association.  “We hope this will keep the 149 contract towers open and the safeguard the significant safety benefits these towers provide the American people."

A complete list of Congressional co-signers is included below:


Congresswoman Frederica Wilson and Congressman Robert Goodlatte


1.Tom Cotton       

2.Rubén Hinojosa 

3.Richard Hanna

4.Walter B. Jones

5.Sam Johnson        

6.Michele Bachmann

7.Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

8. Denny Heck        

9.Raúl M. Grijalva

10.  Steve Pearce    

11.  Rodney Davis

12.  Louie Gohmert

13.  Martha Roby

14.  Paul A. Gosar

15.  Richard Hudson

16.  Julia Brownley

17.  Sam Farr

18.  Tom Reed

19.  Bill Enyart

20.  Lois Frankel

21.  Dennis Ross

22.  Dan Benishek

23.  Tom Rooney

24.  Steve Stivers

25.  Peter DeFazio

26.  Ron Kind

27.  Blake Farenthold

28.  Tom Cole

29.  Ed Royce

30.  Filemon Vela     

31.  Ed Whitfield

32.  Aaron Schock

33.  Tony Cardenas

34.  David Mckinley

35.  Trent Franks

36.  Mike Simpson

37.  Kevin Yoder

38.  Bruce Braley      

39.  Paul Ryan

40.  David P. Joyce

41.  Gary Peters

42.  Brad Schneider

43.  Bill Posey

44.  C.W. Bill Young

45.  Bill Flores

46.  Marcia L. Fudge

47.  Billy Long

48.  Ralph M. Hall

49.  Jim Renacci

50.  Lloyd Doggett

51.  Frank D. Lucas

52.  Trey Radel

53.  Marcy Kaptur

54.  Bennie G. Thompson

55.  Thomas Petri

56.  Andy Harris

57.  Steve Cohen

58.  Joe Pitts

59.  Rob Bishop

60.  Raúl R. Labrador

61.  James Sensenbrenner

62.  Paul Cook

63.  Pete Olson

64.  Vicky Hartzler

65.  Steve Womack

66.  Adam Smith

67.  Tom Rice

68.  James Lankford

69.  Henry Cuellar

70.  Kevin Brady

71.  G. K. Butterfield

72.  Sean P. Duffy

73.  Lamar Smith

74.  Ann Kuster

75.  Ted Deutch

76.  Cathy McMorris Rodgers

77.  Doc Hastings

78.  Lou Barletta

79.  Lynn Jenkins

80.  Sam Graves